Since its formation in 1971, New Day has operated as a collective and is democratically run by more than 100 filmmaker members. Our management team is elected from the membership and every member plays an important role in operations.

Once a year, all New Day members gather from across the United States for a four-day conference to democratically make decisions about our business and to elect the Steering Committee, New Day’s management team. In addition to marketing our individual films, all active members volunteer time to run the business, from acquisition to promotion, website to finance. Throughout the year, we perform tasks, communicate on-line about major issues and meet regionally to select new films. To ensure transparent communication and effective fulfillment, New Day enlists professional partners to support our operations.

The Current New Day Steering Committee

Jonathan Skurnik, Chair

Thick, Dark Fog

Badger Creek

Becoming Johanna  (Youth and Gender Media Project)

Creating Gender Inclusive Schools (Youth and Gender Media Project)

The Family Journey (Youth and Gender Media Project)

I'm Just Anneke (Youth and Geneer Media Project)

A Day's Work, A Day's Pay

Spit It Out

The Elevator Operator


Regan Brashear, Intake and Launch

Fixed: The Science/Fiction of Human Enhancement


Cindy Burstein, Acquisitions

Concrete, Steel and Paint


Erin Davis, Digital Operations

The Land 


Suzan Beraza, Communications

Bag It

Uranium Drive-In


Rick Goldsmith, Finance

Everyday Heroes

Tell the Truth and Run: George Seldes and the American Press

The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers


Alice Bouvrie, Promo Support

Thy Will Be Done: A transsexual woman's journey through family and faith

A Chance to Dress